Responsible Beverage Server Training
Responsible Beverage Server (RBS) training is a course designed for any “employee” working in any establishment that sells or serves alcohol. Studies show RBS training is effective in reducing the serving/sale of alcohol to minors and brings awareness to the server about their responsibilities and liabilities from over-serving. Trainers will educate on how to properly check an ID, how to spot a fake ID, how many ounces are in a drink for different types of alcohol, and tips on helping identify an intoxicated customer. They will review North Dakota state laws and local ordinances regarding the sale and consumption of alcohol, your responsibilities and liabilities as a server and owner, and policies and procedures involving how to avoid sales and the serving of alcohol to minors.
Frequently asked questions:
Why do I need this training?
First District Health Unit’s- Board of Health adopted a new food code effective January 1, 2019.
The food code requires that Business owners/License holders of an establishment that provide on-site consumption of beverages containing alcohol, and any “employee” who handles, mixes, serves, sells or is involved in the transaction of alcohol have their RBS certification. These employees will be required to show proof of certification, while on duty, if requested. Although not required, RBS training is strongly recommended for business owners and employees of establishments that offer the off-site sale of alcohol.
Who is required to have RBS certification?
The food code requires that any “employee” of an establishment that provides on-site consumption of beverages containing alcohol to have their RBS certification.
Under the First District Health Unit food code “employee” means the license holder, their designated person in charge, a person having supervisory or management duties, a person on the payroll, a family member, a volunteer, a person performing work under contractual agreement, or any other person working in or engaged in any food/alcohol production process or any other activity pertinent to operation in the establishment. 1-33.
(Therefore, this includes owners (license holders), managers, and all volunteers participating in a transaction involving alcohol.)
What is considered an approved responsible beverage server training?
First District Health Unit offers an approved classroom-style training course. The North Dakota Safety Council offers an online course. Any course established in the state of North Dakota to comply with city or county ordinances requiring responsible beverage server training may be acceptable, but will require approval from the Director of Health Promotions. Although the ND Safety Council online course meets the certification criteria, we strongly encourage the original certification to be completed classroom-style at a First District scheduled training offered by our instructor. Re-certification can be done online.
When is the class offered?
First District Health Unit currently offers free RBS training, the first Thursday of each month, 5PM to 7PM, in the Minot office. You must pre-register. Seating cannot be guaranteed for walk-in attendees. Currently, First District Health does not offer an online course although the ND Safety Council has an approved online course available with a cost of $20/person.
For a list of 2019 training dates click here and print!
How much does this cost?
Effective January 1, 2019, a $10.00/person fee is required to attend First District’s RBS course.
At this time, grant funds cover the cost of training at FDHU. (Excludes training at your establishment.)
The ND Safety Council online course is $20.00/person.
Can I schedule an onsite class/training at my business?
Arrangements can be made to host an on-site class. The cost would be a minimum fee of $250.00 plus mileage. (This minimum fee includes the $10 fee for each individual attending the course.)
Additional charges may be applied depending on where your business is located and the possibility of rental space needed to accommodate a large number of attendees.
If you are interested in this possibility, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org or 852-1376.
How long is this class?
The RBS training course can be between 2-4 hours depending on the participation of the attendees. Generally, it is a two-hour training. Past attendees have commented how “very informative” the training was and “how time flew by.” Our instructor is very knowledgeable and answers questions you would not be able to ask during an online course.
Is there testing?
Yes, at the beginning of class a pre-test is administered. After the training is finished, you will be given the same test to complete on your own. Certification does require a passing grade. Most everyone passes the test.
How long is the certification valid for?
Certification is good for three years from the test date. First District Health Unit issues two certificates upon completion of this class. Each participant will receive a small wallet size certificate you are required to carry on you (during your shift) and an 8 ½” X 11” certificate. Because there is a 5 point penalty in the food code for failure to show proof of certification, your employer may want to take a copy of your certificate to keep on-site.
What if I lose or misplace the certificate?
If you attended a First District Health Unit RBS training, you will be entered into our database after completing the course. Lost certificates can be replaced for a fee.
Contact the Director of Health Promotions, Renae Byre, via email: email@example.com or by calling 701-852-1376.
How do I register?
Call our office at 701-852-1376 or register here.
Tags: RBS, RBST, registration, RBS Training